Gaming controllers for Linux!

Surprisingly I do sometime play computer games. Of course under Linux! With my sons I like car racing games so I needed a gaming wheel or a gamepad. And here the question arises to which I came as well:

Which gaming wheels or gamepads work well under Linux?

I can recommend 2 of such devices which I’ve checked personally. As I am a casual player please do keep in mind that these are probably not for “professional gamers”. But they’re good enough, have good quality and are not expensive. Both controllers have USB interface. Both are working out of the box under Linux (Linux Mint 17 at least):

  • Genius Speed Wheel 5 Pro – it looks like it can be not available in shops now as I bought it in 2012. These days it costed around 33 USD (105 PLN).
    Genius Speed Wheel 5 Pro

    Genius Speed Wheel 5 Pro

  • Logitech F310 Gamepad – bought at the beginning of 2017 for some less than 20 USD (75 PLN).
    Logitech F310 Gamepad

    Logitech F310 Gamepad

Both controllers are working very well in Grid Autosport under Linux (and it’s the best car racing game I’ve seen on Linux)! On the last Black Friday I’ve bought this game for just 10 EUR! This game is awesome also because it offers split-screen racing mode what I’ve checked with both above-mentioned controllers being in use at the same time!

And I can recommend this application for the initial testing (and some configuration): jstest-gtk

About krzysztoftomaszewski

I've got M.Sc. in software engineering. I graduated in 2005 at Institute of Computer Science, Warsaw University of Technology, Faculty of Electronics and Information Technology. I'm working on computer software design and engineering continuously since 2004.
This entry was posted in hardware, Linux and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

